"Thro' evening shades I haste away / to close the labours of my day."

Woman-Charms: a Litany

I AM THE WHITE DOE WHO SEVEN TIMES FLEES.
I am pure and fleet, for I know that capture is Death to my Soul.
I AM A GREY FLOOD UPON WHICH THE BOAT IS TOSSED.
I ebb, and I flood, and my water is uneasy.
I AM A VIOLENT WIND THAT STIRS THE DEPTHS.
I rise up in anger from my uneasy slumber.
I AM A SUN-SPIKE RIPPING THROUGH THE CLOUDS.
I shall give forth the pure ray of reality.
I AM A BIRD OF PREY WHO PROTECT HER BROOD.
I am cunning and canny and give shelter to my children.
I BRING FORTH TERROR AS THE NIGHT-CROW.
I guard the boundaries and seek the enemy from his corners.
I AM DENSE SMOKE AND HEAVY FIRE.
I cloud the reason of Man and elevate she who would brave my flame.
I AM THE FIRE-FORGED SWORD WHOSE BLADE IS BLOOD-TEMPERED.
I am the Amazon who never wounds, but destroys the usurper, row upon row.
I AM WISER THAN THE CIRCLING SALMON WITHIN THE HOLY POOL.
I am the hazel nut that feeds the Wicce and spells the lore in her ear.
I AM THE VARIECOLOURED SNAKE WHO CROWNS THE HILL OF INSPIRATION.
I inflict the deadly sting upon the heavy-footed and uninspired.
I AM THE THICKET THAT WILL HIDE NEITHER THE BOAR NOR THE ROEBUCK.
I am the Daughter who wields the spear of the Sacred Name.
I AM A TIDE MORE VIOLENT THAN ITS WAVES SPEAK.
I am the terror in the shingle’s rattle against the crumbling cliffs.
I AM THE SEA WAVES WHOSE CREST IS BRILLIANT FOAM.
I shall not be stopped, and I shall ceaselessly eat away the enemy shore.

WHO KNOWS THE SECRETS OF THE UN HEWN DOLMEN?
I, who am Woman: for its stones are my living, and its portal, my heart.
I, who am Woman: for I am the structure that opens to give Life passage.
I, who am Woman: for I am also the door that takes Life into Death.

I AM PRIESTESS AND WOMAN.
I am my Mother’s Daughter.

(Morgan McFarland)

Lascia un commento

